Connect with us


Gordon Earns Eighth Gold Glove

Former Husker great Alex Gordon was once again honored for his stellar defensive play, as he received his eighth Rawlings Gold Glove Award Tuesday evening.

The 2020 season marked Gordon’s fourth consecutive Gold Glove in left field, while this year’s honor tied Frank White for the Royals’ franchise record for Gold Gloves. Gordon also won three straight Gold Gloves from 2011 to 2014.

This year’s Gold Glove Awards were based solely on defensive statistics, with no voting by peers or coaches. Gordon had zero errors and four outfield assists, and he was at plus-one in defensive runs saved.

Gordon, who starred at Nebraska from 2003 to 2005, finished his 14-year Major League career with 104 outfield assists. He is now a finalist for the 2020 Rawlings Platinum Glove Award which goes to the top defensive player in each League. Gordon was the AL winner in 2014 when the Royals went to the World Series.

Fans can vote online at through Thursday, Nov. 5 at 10:59 p.m. CT. The Rawlings Platinum Glove Award winners will be unveiled exclusively on MLB Network’s Emmy Award-winning “MLB Tonight” on Friday, Nov. 6 at 6 p.m.

Source link

Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply


Must See

More in Baseball