To Top

Scott Frost named finalist for Coach of the Year

Nebraska head football coach Scott Frost was one of eight head coaches named a finalist for the Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year award on Tuesday.

Frost led Central Florida to a perfect 12-0 season and an AAC Conference Title in 2017. He was named as the American Athletic Conference Coach of the Year last week.

UCF was the only team in the FBS ranks to reach a 12-0 record, just two years after going 0-12.

UCF is scheduled to play Auburn in the Chik-Fil-A Peach Bowl on Jan. 1 at Mercedes-Benz Stadium in Atlanta. Kickoff for that game is set for 11:30 a.m. CT.

Frost plans on coaching the Golden Knights in that game.

The other seven finalists for the national award include:

  • UAB’s Bill Clark
  • Florida Atlantic’s and Lincoln native Lane Kiffin
  • Army’s Jeff Monken
  • Oklahoma’s Lincoln Riley
  • Georgia’s Kirby Smart
  • Clemson’s Dabo Swinney
  • Fresno State’s Jeff Tedford

The winner of this award will be announced on Dec. 14. The official presentation will be in Atlanta on Jan. 6.

Frost was also honored as one of five AFCA Regional Coach of the Year winners. The AFCA will announce their 2017 Coach of the Year on Jan. 9.

Play the Podcast Here

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in KLIN Podcast

Huskers Today is a leading news and information source for all things Huskers. It is an aggregate of national and local RSS feeds, user curated stories, and staff written articles, offering current and diverse Husker sports news and events.

Copyright © 2016